Clinical Content

The Clinical Content Subcommittee is a group of clinicians and experienced professionals from appropriate specialities and backgrounds. The Subcommittee includes representatives from England, Scotland, Ireland, Northern Ireland and Wales. The primary purpose of the Subcommittee is to drive and influence the development and quality improvement of open and shared clinical content for eHealth projects via a collaborative community, and to encourage and facilitate its use in real e-health implementations. They will provide the technical tools, plus professional support and assurance to those responsible for and involved in e-health projects where clinical content is a factor. The Subcommittee will work to promote open systems and standards for digital health and social care. They will support the aim to make the data, information and knowledge within IT systems open, shareable and computable. This will facilitate the creation of innovative digital services to transform the delivery of health and social care. The Subcommittee is chaired by a qualified and practising health professional, and consists of members with the appropriate skills and experience to enable them to contribute to the development of the clinical content agenda and influence how it progresses on behalf of their nation.

The subcommittee has curated a number of openEHR templates for us which can be found here.

A copy of the subcommittee terms of reference can be found here.

Get in Touch


Our Subcommittee Members

Shane McKee


Card image cap

Shane is a Consultant in Genetic Medicine at Belfast City Hospital an is also Chief Clinical Information Officer for Belfast Health & Social Care Trust. He is currently involved in the development of technology-enabled change in the Trust, and the wider regional EHR work, known as the Encompass Project. He also enjoys cycling and wants to see Trusts and large organisations reduce their reliance on car transport.

Ian McNicoll


Card image cap

Ian is a former Scottish GP, now full-time clinical informatician, with a particular interest in 'open platform' approaches to health IT systems. He is a director in two heathlT companies (Inidus and freshEHR), co-chair of the openEHR Foundation, an INTEROPen Board member and an NHS Digital Innovation Associate. He also holds an Honorary Senior Research Associate post at UCL.

John Meredith


Card image cap

John works for the NHS Wales Informatics Service and has over 12 years’ experience working within clinical disciplines as an informatics lead. He is Application Design Architect for the NHS Wales Information Solution for Diabetes Management. He is also a Doctoral student researching health interoperability, data standards and clinical decision support with University of Wales Trinity Saint David.

Paul Miller


Card image cap

Paul has worked across Scotland a GP and is currently a partner in a practice in Paisley. He is the Clinical Lead for "Scottish Clinical Information Management in Practice" - SCIMP, which is a GP focused organisation providing health informatics advice and leadership to NHS Scotland. He is a member of the RCGP Health Informatics Group and a 2018 Founding Fellow of the Faculty of Clinical Informatics.

Tony Shannon


Card image cap

Tony qualified in medicine in Dublin, trained in emergency medicine & informatics between Ireland, UK & the US. He spent over 20 years in frontline clinical practice, inc 10 years as Consultant in Emergency Medicine in the NHS. Having been involved in Informatics at local/regional/national/international levels over the last 15 years, he now leads the non profit Ripple Foundation who are working towards an open platform to positively disrupt healthcare. He is also a Director of the Apperta Foundation.

Keep Up To Date

Join the conversation with us and keep up with the latest news in all the usual places:

The Apperta Foundation CIC is a limited company (registration number 09483987)

Our registered address is Sunderland Software Centre, Tavistock Place, Sunderland, Tyne And Wear, England, SR1 1PB

Code4Health & C4H are registered Trademarks of the Apperta Foundation CIC 2018